Parent Advisory Committee

Four women of the Special Education Parent Advisory Committee standing together smiling.

2016 Parent Advisory Committee

Purpose of the Committee:

The Parent Advisory Committee (PAC) is comprised of parent representatives from each district. The committee is open to any parent of a student with an IEP. Committee members meet with district staff during the school year to: 1) bring to the Director’s attention any existing or emerging issues expressed by parents at the school they represent, and 2) serve as an advisory, not a decision-making body, that makes recommendations and provides opportunities for parent involvement on committees and task forces. (Pictured: PAC Members Jennie deAraujo, Jessie Pickell, Melissa Laney & Alicia Vitto)

Each year the Parent Advisory Committee honors outstanding individuals who have gone above & beyond for students with IEPs.

Christine Barry smiling while holding her award and standing next to Annette Szafranski

Christine Barry (winner) with Annette Szafranski

2016 Making a Difference Award Winners:

Tammy Butcher – General Education Teacher of the Year

Christine Barry – Special Education Teacher of the Year

Michael Hoffner – Administrator of the Year

Cheryl Hawver – Paraprofessional of the Year

Steve Vitto – Volunteer of the Year

Julia Schultz – Itinerant Staff Person of the Year

Juli Westgate – Community Person of the Year

Alden Mayer – Student of the Year (Bronson)

Jonathon Padgett – Student of the Year (BACC)

Logan Roberts with Alden Mayer, Student of the Year!